Delora

Wattle Bank, Bass Coast: house prices, rent and what to check before you buy

Valuer-General Victoria doesn't report a median house or unit price for Wattle Bank: too few sales. Median rent: $204 a week (ABS Census 2021, older than the price figures). Postcode 3995.

What stands out: A flood-related overlay covers 12% of the suburb's land; a bushfire overlay covers 18% of the suburb's land (Vicmap Planning).

Page updated

Median rent
$204/wk
Census 2021 (older)
Census 2021 median, all rented homes
Four years older than the price figures; not directly comparable.
ABS Census 2021
Planning risk
Flood 12% ModerateBushfire 18% ModerateHeritage 0% Very low
share of suburb land area
2 suburb-specific overlays to check
Vicmap Planning
Getting around
50.5 km to nearest station
3 zoned primary, 2 secondary schools
PTV timetable data · Victorian Department of Education school zones

Check an address in Wattle BankCompare with another suburb

Wattle Bank is a small community with a median age of 41, among the most socio-economically advantaged areas in the state on the ABS's SEIFA index. Housing here is overwhelmingly standalone houses. The area is still light on cafés, shops and other everyday amenity. It's not served by train or tram. House sales here are too infrequent for a reliable median — see the unit and land figures below.

Ready to look at a specific property here? See the due diligence hub for what to verify before you sign.

Scope: Victoria, Australia. Suburb data here is Victorian (state valuer, rental, planning and school records); regional Victoria comparison group.

In this profile

  • Planning and riskZones, overlays, flood and bushfire, and what is planned nearby, with an address check.
  • Prices and rentsMedian prices and rents, how they have moved, and sales volume.
  • SchoolsThe government school zones that cover the suburb.
  • Living hereTransport, commute times, who lives here and the suburbs nearby.
  • Before you buyThe checks every purchase needs, common questions and guides.

Next: Planning and risk

Risk and planning in Wattle Bank

Wattle Bank has relatively light heritage-overlay coverage (about 0%), though it can still apply to individual parcels. It also carries meaningful flood-overlay coverage (about 12% of the suburb). A Bushfire Management Overlay affects about 18% of the area.

Suburb-wide shares of the land, not a check of any one address.

Flood overlay12% · Moderate

Flood-related overlays can add building rules and raise insurance cost.

Share of the suburb. Source: Vicmap Planning · Verify this address

Bushfire overlay18% · Moderate

If it applies it adds bushfire construction requirements (a BAL rating) and cost.

Share of the suburb. Source: Vicmap Planning · Verify this address

Bushfire prone area100% · Very high

In a designated bushfire prone area a minimum construction standard applies to new homes, based on the bushfire attack level (BAL). (Department of Transport and Planning (Victoria), verified 22 Oct 2026) So building or rebuilding there means working out the home’s BAL and pricing in what meeting it costs.

Share of the suburb. Source: Designated Bushfire Prone Area (DataVic) · Verify this address

Heritage overlay0% · Very low

Changes to the outside of a building, and demolition, need council approval.

Share of the suburb. Source: Vicmap Planning · Verify this address

Worth checking in Wattle Bank

Flood / inundation overlay risk

Roughly 12% of Wattle Bank carries a flood-related overlay. Confirm the land isn’t in a Land Subject to Inundation Overlay (LSIO) or Special Building Overlay (SBO) — both affect insurance, build height and what you can construct.

Bushfire Management Overlay

A Bushfire Management Overlay affects ~18% of Wattle Bank. If it applies, it drives bushfire construction requirements (BAL rating) and cost.

Free. Zone, overlays, hazard exposure, history and school zones for any address in Victoria.

Zoning mix and building controls

Land use across the suburb (planning zones)

Rural / Green 98%
Zoning
Rural / Green
mostly Farming Zone (FZ) · 66% of the suburb
Planning changes in Wattle Bank: none recorded since 2017

No zone changes or new planning overlays have been recorded on land in Wattle Bank since 2017 — its planning rules have stayed put over the period we track. That stability is itself worth knowing.

Source: Vicmap Planning Scheme History (2017–present). How Melbourne’s zoning actually changed over the decade →

Skip the map
Map of Wattle Bank: suburb boundaryOutline drawn from the same boundary data as the interactive map.

  • Suburb
Layers on this map, as a table
Layers drawn on the map of Wattle Bank
LayerShare of suburbSource
Suburb boundaryThe whole suburbABS SAL 2021
Suburb boundary. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.

Overlay colours reflect how much of the suburb an overlay covers — green under ~8%, amber ~8–20%, red above 20%. Public-acquisition, contamination (EAO) and floodway overlays are listed above under "Worth checking" wherever they apply, because even a small area can include a specific property. Source: Vicmap Planning. What do these terms mean? · How to verify planning controls for an address

Watch Wattle Bank for planning changes

Email me when a planning zone or overlay changes for Wattle Bank VIC. Free, double opt-in, unsubscribe anytime.

Free. No spam. One email per gazetted change.

Next: Prices and rents

Cost and market in Wattle Bank

Wattle Bank has too few recorded sales for a reliable median. Typical rent is $204/wk (Census 2021).

Show recorded crime and amenity-density comparisons
Compare Wattle Bank with
Recorded crime (council area)
lower recorded crime than 56%
Café & amenity density
denser in cafés & shops than 1%
Café & amenity density
denser in cafés & shops than 1%

Next: Schools

Schools

Parts of Wattle Bank fall within 3 primary and 2 secondary government school catchments. No schools sit within the suburb boundary itself, though the catchments above extend into it from neighbouring areas.

Government schools have address-based catchment zones; Catholic and independent schools set their own enrolment processes.

Zoned government schools
Catchments that cover part of Wattle Bank — a suburb can span several, and your exact address decides which applies. Confirm at findmyschool.vic.gov.au.
How the school zones cover Wattle Bank
Share of Wattle Bank's addresses inside each zone, the school's enrolment trend and how often the zone boundary has moved.
ZoneCoversEnrolmentsBoundary
Primary school zones
Kongwak Primary School60%——
Inverloch Primary School39%——
Secondary school zones
Bass Coast College (Dudley Campus)99%——
Bass Coast College (Wonthaggi Campus)99%——
Sources: Victorian Department of Education school zones 2027 and earlier releases, All Schools FTE Enrolments (CC BY 4.0), G-NAF addresses. Enrolments show demand, not capacity. Your exact address decides which zone applies.

Next: Living here

Getting around from Wattle Bank

no train, tram or bus stops sit inside the suburb (PTV timetable data).

Getting around
0 train · 0 tram · 0 bus
nearest train station ~50.5 km · counts are stop points, not stations (a station is often several)
Train frequency
every 20 min
at the nearest station, weekday AM peak
Tram frequency
every 11 min
at the nearest stop, weekday AM peak
Schools
0
primary & secondary
Nearest Centrelink
~11 km
outside the suburb
Everyday amenity (OpenStreetMap)
Cafés & amenity density
0 cafés
Low café & amenity density — likely more car-dependent
Restaurants
1
places to eat nearby
Supermarkets
0
grocery stores nearby
Pharmacies
0
chemists nearby
Parks
0
green space nearby
Childcare
0
centres nearby
GP & medical centres
0
nearby

Who lives in Wattle Bank

— 250 residents · median age 41 · 91% own their home · SEIFA 9/10
Population
250
usual residents (Census 2021)
Owner-occupied
91%
91% own, 5% private rent, 0% social, 4% other or not stated
Median age
41 yrs
of residents
Personal income
$807/wk
median, per week
Household income
$1,812/wk
median, per week
Avg household size
2.9 people
people per home · 89% family households
Monthly mortgage
$2,167/mo
median repayment
Taxpayer income
$43,716/yr
median taxable income, per year (ATO)
Population growth
no data
Recorded crime
90 per 1,000 residents
a year, across all of Bass Coast council, not just Wattle Bank · around the state average

In Wattle Bank itself: 2 recorded offences in the year to 2026 (Crime Statistics Agency, matched by suburb name and postcode — a closer figure than the council-wide band above, though still a count, not a rate per resident).

Offence category mix (Bass Coast council's mix, latest year):

  • Property and deception offences42%
  • Justice procedures offences25%
  • Crimes against the person21%
  • Public order and security offences7%
  • Drug offences5%
  • Other offences0%

Recorded offences by year, Wattle Bank (down 33% since 2019):

YearOffences
20193
20203
20215
20226
202312
20243
202511
20262
How Wattle Bank changed, 2016 to 2021
  • Median household incomeup 26%
  • Median personal incomeup 28%
  • Median weekly rentdown 29%
  • Median ageyounger by 3 years
ABS Census of Population and Housing 2016 and 2021, medians for the suburb (CC BY 4.0). Dollar changes are not adjusted for inflation.

How advantaged the area is

Deciles 1–10 vs all Victorian areas — 10 = most advantaged — from the ABS SEIFA index. A demographic measure, not a house-price one. These three don’t always move together — a suburb with lots of renters or students, for example, can score high on education but lower on income and housing costs.

Overall advantage
9/10
Among Victoria's most advantaged areas
Economic resources
9/10
income, housing costs & wealth
Education & occupation
5/10
qualifications & skilled jobs

The homes here

Mix of dwelling types across the suburb (Census 2021)

Houses 98%Townhouses 0%Apartments 0%

Who owns and rents here (Census 2021)

Owned 91%Private rental 5%Social housing 0%Other or not stated 4%
More detail on building height and bedroom mix (Census 2021)

Bedroom mix (share of all occupied dwellings):

  • 2 bedrooms: 4%
  • 3 bedrooms: 35%
  • 4 or more bedrooms: 57%

Not sure whether a house, townhouse or apartment suits you? Decide what to buy →

Recorded crime is a council-wide rate — every offence police logged over the latest year (theft, property damage, drug and traffic offences and the like, not only violent crime) divided by the council’s residents. A broad area signal, not a figure for this exact street.
All figures are suburb-level indicators, not property-specific — always confirm the exact address on the Section 32. Sources: ABS Census 2021, Valuer-General Victoria, DFFH Rental Report, Crime Statistics Agency Victoria, Vicmap Planning, Victorian Government UDP, Victorian Department of Education (schools & zones, via data.vic, CC BY 4.0), OpenStreetMap.

Suburbs near Wattle Bank

The 6 closest suburbs with a Delora page, by distance between suburb centres.

All suburbs in Bass Coast →   Browse all suburbs →

Next: Before you buy

Before you buy in Wattle Bank

Overlay and pipeline checks specific to Wattle Bank are in the Planning and risk tab. Two checks apply to every purchase.

C1

Easements & covenants

Check Section 3 for easements (e.g. drainage/sewer along a boundary — you usually can’t build over them) and restrictive covenants (single-dwelling, materials, height) that limit your plans.

C2

Owners corporation (if applicable)

Apartments and many townhouses in Wattle Bank are in an owners corporation. If so, the statement must include its certificate — review annual fees, any special levies, the maintenance fund and insurance.

Already under contract in Wattle Bank?

Questions about Wattle Bank

What postcode is Wattle Bank?

Wattle Bank is in postcode 3995, in the Bass Coast council area, Victoria.

What is the population of Wattle Bank?

Wattle Bank had 250 usual residents at the 2021 Census (ABS), with a median age of 41.

Is Wattle Bank in a flood zone?

About 12% of Wattle Bank's land is under a flood-related planning overlay (LSIO, SBO or floodway), and about 18% is under the Bushfire Management Overlay (Vicmap Planning). These are suburb-wide shares: whether an overlay applies to one property depends on the address, so check it on VicPlan and in the Section 32.

Show all 4 more questions
What should I check in a Section 32 for Wattle Bank?

For Wattle Bank, pay particular attention to any heritage overlay (none mapped at suburb level — check the specific parcel), any flood-related overlay (about 12% of the land), easements and restrictive covenants on the title, and — for apartments — the owners-corporation certificate with its fees and any special levies.

Does Wattle Bank have heritage overlays?

No heritage overlay coverage was mapped for Wattle Bank at the suburb level. That doesn't rule out an individually heritage-listed property or a Heritage Overlay on a specific parcel — check the planning section of the Section 32 for this address.

How is Wattle Bank zoned?

Most of Wattle Bank (66% of the land) is in the Farming (FZ), then RLZ (32%) and PCRZ (1%) (Vicmap Planning). The zone and its schedule set what can be built; check the exact zone for an address on VicPlan.

Which school zones cover Wattle Bank?

Parts of Wattle Bank are in the government school zones for primary: Inverloch Primary School, Kongwak Primary School, Wonthaggi North Primary School; secondary: Bass Coast College, Korumburra Secondary College (Victorian Department of Education school zones). A suburb can span several zones: the exact address decides which applies, so confirm it at findmyschool.vic.gov.au.

Guides for buying in Wattle Bank

The heritage, flood and bushfire figures in Planning and risk are suburb-wide — they tell you how common an overlay is here, not whether it applies to one specific address. Confirm via VicPlan and an in-person inspection before you rely on them.

The Delora app

Thinking of buying in Wattle Bank?

Paste a listing or address into Delora in Claude. It checks the home against official records, works out the cost to buy, and remembers your shortlist between chats.

Sign in with Google, Apple or an email code through a hosted sign-in provider; Delora never sees your password. What the app keeps.

Sources on this page last verified against the primary source each figure cites. What “verified” means