Delora

Making an offer

Buying at auction in Australia

How an auction works from registration to the fall of the hammer, what binds you when you win, and how the rules on vendor bids, the reserve and passed-in properties differ in each state and territory.

Jurisdiction: Australia-wide: every state and territory comparedSources last verified: 22 Oct 2026By Delora editorial teamLast reviewed: 2026-09-27Change history

Key points

  • No state or territory gives a cooling-off period on a property bought at auction.
  • With no cooling-off to fall back on, finance, inspections and legal review have to come before you bid.
  • The deposit is usually about 10%; in NSW, SA, WA and the ACT it is due straight after the hammer.
  • Vendor-bid limits differ: one in NSW and the ACT, up to three in SA, up to the reserve in Queensland and WA.
  • Victoria now publishes the reserve 7 days before the auction; in NSW, Queensland, WA, SA and the NT bidders aren't told it.

The short answer

The property sells to the highest bidder once bidding reaches the seller's reserve price (VIC, QLD). There is no cooling-off period on a property bought at auction in any state or territory (VIC, NSW, QLD, WA, SA, TAS, ACT, NT). You can't make the contract subject to finance in Victoria, South Australia or Tasmania (VIC, SA, TAS), it can't be conditional on finance approval in Western Australia (Consumer Protection WA (Dept of Local Government, Industry Regulation and Safety), verified 22 Oct 2026), and the NT auction contract is unconditional (Northern Territory Government, verified 12 Aug 2026). So finance, the building inspection and the contract review all have to be finished before you bid, not after.

The risk, plainly: if you win and then can't settle, you are still bound. In NSW you lose the deposit and may be liable for the seller's damages (NSW Government, verified 22 Oct 2026).

How an auction runs, step by step

1. Registering

In NSW, Queensland, South Australia and the ACT you must register before you bid and show proof of identity (NSW, QLD, SA, ACT); in Victoria and Tasmania the auctioneer must tell bidders they will be identified on request (VIC, TAS). The WA and NT government pages describe no registration step.

2. The rules on display

The auction rules or conditions must be on display for at least 30 minutes before the auction in Victoria and the ACT (VIC, ACT), and before and during it in NSW and Tasmania (NSW, TAS). Read them before bidding starts.

3. Vendor bids

A vendor bid is made on the seller's behalf (Consumer Affairs Victoria, verified 30 Jul 2026). The rules differ: it is made only by the auctioneer and announced in Victoria (Consumer Affairs Victoria, verified 30 Jul 2026); limited to one in NSW (NSW Department of Customer Service (in collaboration with NSW Fair Trading), verified 12 Aug 2026) and one in the ACT (ACT Legislative Assembly (via AustLII consolidated text), verified 12 Aug 2026); up to 3, each below the reserve, in South Australia (Consumer and Business Services, South Australia, verified 22 Oct 2026); only up to the reserve in Queensland, each disclosed (Queensland Government (Office of Fair Trading), verified 12 Aug 2026), and up to the reserve in WA, with the number shown in the conditions of sale (Consumer Protection WA (Dept of Local Government, Industry Regulation and Safety), verified 22 Oct 2026). In the NT the seller may bid personally or have someone bid for them, and the auctioneer must announce it (Northern Territory Government, verified 12 Aug 2026).

4. Dummy bidding

Dummy bidding is illegal in Victoria, NSW, South Australia, Tasmania and the ACT (VIC, NSW, SA, TAS, ACT), with court penalties of up to $55,000 for an individual in NSW (NSW Department of Customer Service (in collaboration with NSW Fair Trading), verified 12 Aug 2026), a maximum of $20,000 in South Australia (Consumer and Business Services, South Australia, verified 22 Oct 2026) and a maximum of 100 penalty units in the ACT (ACT Legislative Assembly (via AustLII consolidated text), verified 12 Aug 2026). The Queensland, WA and NT government auction pages do not mention it.

5. The reserve

Victoria now requires the agent to publish the reserve at least 7 days before auctions held on or after 16 October 2026 (Consumer Affairs Victoria, verified 27 Sep 2026), under the Consumer Legislation Amendment Act 2026, assented to on 8 September 2026 (Parliament of Victoria, verified 27 Sep 2026); any change to it restarts the 7-day period (Consumer Affairs Victoria, verified 27 Sep 2026). In the other states with a stated rule, bidders aren't told the figure: in NSW it is usually not disclosed (NSW Government, verified 22 Oct 2026), in Queensland the auctioneer must not disclose it (Office of Fair Trading Queensland, verified 22 Oct 2026), in WA it is not disclosed to bidders (Consumer Protection WA (Dept of Local Government, Industry Regulation and Safety), verified 22 Oct 2026), in South Australia the vendor is not required to disclose it (Government of South Australia (Attorney-General's Department), verified 12 Aug 2026) and in the NT only the agent, auctioneer and owner know it (Northern Territory Government, verified 12 Aug 2026).

Once bidding reaches the reserve the property is 'on the market' and will sell to the highest bidder (VIC, QLD).

6. When the hammer falls

The winning bidder signs the contract and pays the deposit straight away in NSW, South Australia and the ACT (NSW, SA, ACT); in WA the bidder signs immediately (Consumer Protection WA (Dept of Local Government, Industry Regulation and Safety), verified 22 Oct 2026) and the deposit is due at the close of the auction (Consumer Protection WA (Dept of Local Government, Industry Regulation and Safety), verified 22 Oct 2026); in Victoria the contract binds once both sides have signed in the displayed terms (Consumer Affairs Victoria, verified 30 Jul 2026). The deposit is usually about 10% of the price (VIC, NSW, SA, WA), so have it ready in a form the agent accepts before the day. In NSW a buyer who can't complete loses the deposit and may be liable for the seller's damages (NSW Government, verified 22 Oct 2026).

7. If it's passed in

If bidding stops below the reserve, the property is passed in (VIC, NSW, WA, ACT). The highest bidder gets the first chance to negotiate with the seller in Victoria and the ACT (VIC, ACT), and generally in NSW (NSW Government, verified 22 Oct 2026).

A deal struck soon after a passed-in auction can still carry no cooling-off: on exchange the same day in NSW (NSW Department of Customer Service (in collaboration with NSW Fair Trading), verified 12 Aug 2026), before midnight that day for someone who bid in South Australia (Consumer and Business Services, South Australia, verified 22 Oct 2026), before 5pm on the second business day for a registered bidder in Queensland (Queensland Government (Office of Fair Trading), verified 12 Aug 2026), and on the same day for a registered bidder in the ACT (Access Canberra, verified 22 Oct 2026).

The rules in each state and territory

Each cell states only what its source says; a cell that says a page doesn't cover a topic means Delora found no official statement on it, not that no rule exists. Each state's page has the detail.

Scroll sideways for more columns

The rules in each state and territory
State or territoryRegister to bidVendor bidsDummy biddingReserveAt the hammerIf passed in
VictoriaNo registration step on Consumer Affairs Victoria's auction page; bidders must be told they will be identified on request (Consumer Affairs Victoria, verified 30 Jul 2026)Made only by the auctioneer, announced when made, and set out in the rules on display (Consumer Affairs Victoria, verified 30 Jul 2026)Illegal, with significant penalties (Consumer Affairs Victoria, verified 30 Jul 2026); no figure on the regulator's pagePublished at least 7 days before, for auctions held on or after 16 October 2026 (Consumer Affairs Victoria, verified 27 Sep 2026)Sign in the terms displayed before bidding (Consumer Affairs Victoria, verified 30 Jul 2026); deposit usually 10%, no amount set by law (Consumer Affairs Victoria, verified 30 Jul 2026)The highest bidder gets the first right to negotiate (Consumer Affairs Victoria, verified 30 Jul 2026)
New South WalesRequired: register with the agent and show proof of identity (NSW Government, verified 22 Oct 2026)One, made by the auctioneer and announced as a vendor bid (NSW Department of Customer Service (in collaboration with NSW Fair Trading), verified 12 Aug 2026)Illegal; court penalties up to $55,000 for an individual, $110,000 for a corporation (NSW Department of Customer Service (in collaboration with NSW Fair Trading), verified 12 Aug 2026)Usually not disclosed; given to the auctioneer in writing before the auction (NSW Government, verified 22 Oct 2026)Sign and exchange, and pay the deposit on the spot, usually 10% (NSW Government, verified 22 Oct 2026)The highest bidder generally gets the first chance to negotiate (NSW Government, verified 22 Oct 2026)
QueenslandRequired: the auctioneer registers each bidder, checks identification and issues a numbered card or baton (Queensland Government (Office of Fair Trading), verified 12 Aug 2026)Only up to the reserve, and each one disclosed as a vendor bid (Queensland Government (Office of Fair Trading), verified 12 Aug 2026)Not covered on the Queensland Government's auction pageThe auctioneer must not disclose it to anyone but a person acting for the seller (Office of Fair Trading Queensland, verified 22 Oct 2026)Deposit as set in the conditions of sale (Office of Fair Trading Queensland, verified 22 Oct 2026)Not described on the Queensland Government's auction page
Western AustraliaNo registration step on Consumer Protection's auction pageThe seller or their agent may bid up to the reserve; the number of vendor bids must be in the conditions of sale (Consumer Protection WA (Dept of Local Government, Industry Regulation and Safety), verified 22 Oct 2026)Not mentioned on Consumer Protection's auction pageNot disclosed to bidders (Consumer Protection WA (Dept of Local Government, Industry Regulation and Safety), verified 22 Oct 2026)Sign immediately (Consumer Protection WA (Dept of Local Government, Industry Regulation and Safety), verified 22 Oct 2026); deposit about 10% at the close of the auction (Consumer Protection WA (Dept of Local Government, Industry Regulation and Safety), verified 22 Oct 2026)Not sold; the auctioneer or agent may negotiate privately with bidders (Consumer Protection WA (Dept of Local Government, Industry Regulation and Safety), verified 22 Oct 2026)
South AustraliaRequired for anyone who intends to bid (Consumer and Business Services, South Australia, verified 22 Oct 2026)Up to 3, made by the auctioneer, each below the reserve and announced (Consumer and Business Services, South Australia, verified 22 Oct 2026)Against the law; maximum penalty $20,000 (Consumer and Business Services, South Australia, verified 22 Oct 2026)Not required to be disclosed (Government of South Australia (Attorney-General's Department), verified 12 Aug 2026)Sign immediately after the hammer; deposit usually around 10%, paid immediately (Consumer and Business Services, South Australia, verified 22 Oct 2026)The vendor may negotiate with a bidder or put it on the open market (Government of South Australia (Attorney-General's Department), verified 12 Aug 2026); no cooling-off on a contract with someone who bid, made before midnight that day (Consumer and Business Services, South Australia, verified 22 Oct 2026)
TasmaniaNo registration step on CBOS's auction page; bidders will be identified on request (Consumer, Building and Occupational Services (Tasmania), verified 12 Aug 2026)The auctioneer must say before bidding whether vendor bids will be used (Consumer, Building and Occupational Services (Tasmania), verified 12 Aug 2026)False bids are illegal and substantial fines apply (Consumer, Building and Occupational Services (Tasmania), verified 12 Aug 2026); no figure givenNot covered on CBOS's auction pageNot covered on CBOS's auction pageNot covered on CBOS's auction page
Australian Capital TerritoryRequired before bidding, with proof of identity on the day (Access Canberra, verified 22 Oct 2026)One seller bid, made by the auctioneer and stated aloud each time (ACT Legislative Assembly (via AustLII consolidated text), verified 12 Aug 2026)Illegal; maximum 100 penalty units (ACT Legislative Assembly (via AustLII consolidated text), verified 12 Aug 2026)Neither ACT source says whether the reserve is disclosedSign the contract and pay a deposit immediately (Access Canberra, verified 22 Oct 2026)The seller must first negotiate with the highest bidder (Access Canberra, verified 22 Oct 2026)
Northern TerritoryNo registration step on the NT Government's auction pageThe seller may bid personally or have someone bid for them; the auctioneer must announce it (Northern Territory Government, verified 12 Aug 2026)Not mentioned on the NT Government's auction pageKnown only to the agent, auctioneer and owner (Northern Territory Government, verified 12 Aug 2026)Sign the unconditional contract and pay a deposit (Northern Territory Government, verified 22 Oct 2026)Not sold; the highest bidder may be able to talk to the seller or agent about a higher offer (Northern Territory Government, verified 22 Oct 2026)

Where buyers get caught out

Auction rules by state

Before the day, see before-auction due diligence and auction versus private sale; for the rest of a purchase state by state, see buying a home by state.

Want this as a checklist for your own purchase? Start free in the Delora app

Common questions

Is there a cooling-off period at an auction in Australia?

No. In every state and territory, a property bought at auction has no cooling-off period, and several states extend that to a contract signed soon after a passed-in auction.

How much deposit do I pay at auction?

Usually about 10% of the price, paid when you sign. Victoria sets no amount by law; check the contract or conditions of sale for the amount and how it can be paid.

What is a vendor bid?

A bid the auctioneer makes for the seller, below the reserve. The number allowed differs: one in NSW and the ACT, up to three in South Australia, and up to the reserve in Queensland and WA. In the NT the seller may bid personally.

What happens if a property is passed in?

It hasn't sold. In Victoria and the ACT the highest bidder gets the first chance to negotiate with the seller, and generally in NSW too. A contract signed soon afterwards may still have no cooling-off period.

Practical checklist

Auction-day checklist

  • Finance approved for this property and your limit, not just pre-approval in principle
  • Building and pest inspection, and strata records for a unit, done before the day
  • Contract and vendor disclosure read by your conveyancer or solicitor, with any changes asked for in writing before the auction
  • Your walk-away limit written down, and the bidding plan for whoever bids
  • Proof of identity for registration, and a letter of authority if bidding for someone else or a company
  • The deposit ready in a form the agent accepts, confirmed with the agent beforehand
  • Arrive early to read the rules or conditions on display and hear the auctioneer's opening statements
  • If you win: get a copy of the signed contract, tell your lender, and arrange insurance from the date your contract says

Questions for a professional

  • Is there anything in this contract or the conditions of sale I should ask the seller to change before the auction?
  • Is my finance approval good for this property, this price and this settlement date?
  • What happens to my deposit if my finance or the valuation falls through after I win?

Official resources

Important limitations: General information about auction rules in each state and territory, not legal or financial advice and not a bidding strategy. It does not predict a reserve or suggest a bid. Rules change; each citation shows when Delora last checked its source, and the regulator's own page is the authority. Have a conveyancer or solicitor review the contract before auction day.

Sources and methodology

Figures on this page are drawn from Delora's local knowledge graph, refreshed from these primary sources and checked for changes on a regular schedule. If a figure here looks out of date, the official source above is always the authority — please let us know.

Evidence record

Written by
Delora editorial team
Jurisdiction
Australia-wide: every state and territory compared
Content type
Guide (general education, not financial advice)
Last reviewed
2026-09-27
Sources
See "Sources and methodology" above for cited sources

Keep reading

The Delora app

Turn this into your own checklist

Tell Delora what you are looking for and it checks each home you consider against official records, keeps your notes and works out the cost to buy. The guides stay free and need no account.

Free to start. Sign in with Google, Apple or an email code. How your data is handled.